REMINDER: ISTVS award nominations for 2014 open through 31 MAR

REMINDER: ISTVS Awards Nominations Open thru 31 March

08 Mar 2014 NEWSWIRE

Hello, ISTVS,

As most of you will know, ISTVS has three awards that are presented in conjunction with our international conferences. Please find below short descriptions of the awards and brief nomination instructions.

Please consider nominating a candidate and also feel free to forward this reminder to colleagues for further suggestions.

Full information on the ISTVS Awards Program:


Since 1966, ISTVS has honored distinguished workers in the field of terrain-vehicle interaction by offering them the opportunity to deliver the St. Christopher Lecture at an international ISTVS conference, held every three years. Named for the patron saint of travelers, this is the highest award offered by the society. The recipient need not be an ISTVS member.


This award was established in 2002 and honors exceptional research and/or industrial achievements in engineering practice of the principles of terramechanics. The award recognizes the exceptional contributions of Dr. M. G. Bekker, Dr. A. R. Reece, and Professor N. W. Radforth to the field of terramechanics and to the ISTVS.


This award was established in 1995 to recognize the achievements of members under forty years of age for outstanding accomplishments. The award is named after Professors Walter Söhne, Shojiro Hata, and Walter Jurecka in recognition of their efforts to promote young people.


A candidate for an award may be nominated by a member and seconded by another member of the ISTVS in good standing.

The proposer and the seconder should jointly submit relevant information in no more than two pages (A4 or 8 1/2 x 11) on the candidate, including his/her date of birth (for candidates of the Soehne-Hata-Jurecka Award), education, work experience, and reasons for the nomination in relation to the selection criteria for a particular award.

Submissions should be forwarded by e-mail as an attachment in Microsoft Word or PDF format, whenever possible, no later than March 31, 2014 to:

Professor Kazuyoshi Tateyama Chair, ISTVS Committee on Awards Program

Mailing address: College of Science and Engineering Ritsumeikan University Noji-higashi, Kusatsu 525-8577, Japan

Email: Fax: +81-77-561-3024

Thanks for reading. You’ve received this email as a member or friend of the ISTVS.

Sent to

Copyright © 2014 International Society for Terrain-Vehicle Systems All rights reserved.

** unsubscribe from this list ( ** update subscription preferences (