REMINDER: Award nominations for 2014 open through 31 MAR

REMINDER: Awards Nominations for Seoul open through 31 March

View this email in your browser (

27 Mar 2014 NEWSWIRE Awards nominations for Seoul Conference open thru 31 March

Hello, ISTVS,

We just wanted to remind you that nominations are open for our awards programs associated with our 18th International Conference this September in Seoul.

Honorees stretch back over our fifty-year history, from Dr. M. G. Bekker (1961), Dr. A. R. Reece (1965), and Dr. Walter Söhne (1969) to recent celebrants such as Professor Ray Arvidson (2011) of the Earth and Planetary Remote Sensing Laboratory ( at Washington University in St. Louis and Dr. Junya Yamakawa (2005), Associate Professor, Director of Engineering, National Defense Academy, Japan (now also ISTVS Deputy General Secretary for Asia-Pacific).

Full information on the awards, including a full history of honorees that's a veritable history of the field of terramechanics — and instructions for submitting a nomination:

We hope you will consider a nomination.

Warm regards, ISTVS Awards Committee

p.s. reminder: the deadline for nominations is 31 March 2014

Submit an Nomination:


Since 1966, ISTVS has honored distinguished workers in the field of terrain-vehicle interaction by offering them the opportunity to deliver the St. Christopher Lecture at an international ISTVS conference, held every three years. Named for the patron saint of travelers, this is the highest award offered by the society. The recipient need not be an ISTVS member.


This award was established in 2002 and honors exceptional research and/or industrial achievements in engineering practice of the principles of terramechanics. The award recognizes the exceptional contributions of Dr. M. G. Bekker, Dr. A. R. Reece, and Professor N. W. Radforth to the field of terramechanics and to the ISTVS.


This award was established in 1995 to recognize the achievements of members under forty years of age for outstanding accomplishments. The award is named after Professors Walter Söhne, Shojiro Hata, and Walter Jurecka in recognition of their efforts to promote young people.

Thanks for reading. You’ve received this email as a member or friend of the ISTVS.

Sent to

Copyright © 2014 International Society for Terrain-Vehicle Systems, All rights reserved. You are receiving this email as a current member of the International Society for Terrain-Vehicle Systems.

Our mailing address is: International Society for Terrain-Vehicle Systems Meiersgasse 3 Alfter D-53347 Germany ** unsubscribe from this list ( ** update subscription preferences ( Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp